
CR 09-113 
 

ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN 
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

ADOPTING RULES 

 
The Wisconsin Department of Transportation adopts an order to create ch. Trans 148, 

relating to electronic recording and release of liens by non-individual creditors. 
 

 
 
 Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation 

 
 Statutes interpreted:  ss. 342.19(2)(a), 342.20(2) and (3), 342.22(1) and (2), and 

342.245, Stats.  
 

Statutory authority:  ss. 342.245(3) and (4), Stats.  

 
 Explanation of agency authority:  Section 342.245 of the Wisconsin Statutes 

requires a secured party to use an electronic process prescribed by the Department of 
Transportation to file a security interest statement, and deliver a release of a security 
interest in a motor vehicle and to pay a fee for those actions. The Department may, by 

rule, exempt a person or a type of transaction from those requirements, except that any 
person who is exempted shall pay a fee to the department for processing applications 

and releases submitted by the person utilizing a process other than an electronic 
process. The statutes require the Department to promulgate rules to implement and 
administer these requirements. This rulemaking does that. 

 
 Related statute or rule:  ss. 85.16(1), 227.11, 342.19(2), 342.20(2) and (3), 

342.22(1) and (2), 342.245, Stats. 
 
 Plain language analysis:  2009 Wis. Act 28 created s. 342.245, Stats., and 

amended related provisions, to require secured parties that are not individuals to file a 
security interest in a vehicle utilizing an electronic process prescribed by the Department.  

Act 28 also authorizes the Department to exempt a person or a type of transaction from 
that requirement.  Act 28 requires the Department to promulgate administrative rules to 
implement and administer the statute. 

 
 In this rule making, the Department proposes policies and procedures to implement 

the requirement that non-individual secured parties file a security interest statement 
electronically.  The Department uses as a model ch. Trans 141, which requires licensed 
motor vehicle dealers to process title transactions using an electronic process prescribed 

by the Department.   
 

 Similar to policies established in ch. Trans 141, the Department, in ch. Trans 148, 
proposes to exempt from the requirement of electronic filing of security interest statement 
a secured party that has filed fewer than 49 security interest statements on Wisconsin 

motor vehicle titles during the previous calendar year.  The rule states that the Department 
may deny a secured party the authority to file and release security interest statements 
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electronically based on the secured party’s inadequate performance.  As required by s. 
342.245, Stats., and following the model of ch. Trans 141, the Department proposes to 

charge a $5 fee per transaction for processing applications submitted by secured parties 
not required to process electronically, and the $5 fee and a $20 surcharge per transaction 

for processing applications submitted by secured parties not authorized to process 
electronically and by non-exempt secured parties that fail to comply with the law.  
 

The Department proposes to exempt two types of transactions from the 
requirement that a secured party must file security interest statements electronically and, 

for these specifically exempted security interest transactions, the Department shall not 
charge a secured party a processing fee.  First, if the security interest statement is being 
filed as part of a certificate of title transaction for a vehicle; and second, if the security 

interest statement is part of a transaction that is prohibited from successful electronic 
transaction because of an express limitation on the vehicle title or customer record, or 

on the e-MV Agent internet-based web application or APPS. 
 
 Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or proposed federal 

regulation:  No federal regulations govern the process covered in the rule. 

 
 Comparison with Rules in the Following States: 

 
 Michigan: Michigan has no requirement, allowance, or means for a secured party 

to electronically file security interest statements. 
 
 Minnesota: Minnesota has no requirement or allowance for a secured party to 

electronically file security interest statements.  Minnesota at one time had such a pilot 
program; however, Minnesota has discontinued this practice. 

 
 Illinois: Illinois has no requirement, allowance, or means for a secured party to 

electronically file security interest statements. 
 
 Iowa: Iowa has no requirement, allowance, or means for a secured party to 

electronically file security interest statements. 
 
 Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies used and how the 
related findings support the regulatory approach chosen:  Since 2007, all licensed 

motor vehicle dealers are required to process title and registration transactions.  This law 

is implemented in chs. Trans 141 and Trans 156.   
 

 While financial institutions affected by ch. Trans 148 are of course different from 
motor vehicle dealers, many of the issues involved in electronically processing 
transactions and updating the DMV database are the same.  For example, all transactions 

are subject to the same federal and state privacy laws and DMV security procedures.  All 
transactions utilize the same methods of payment to DMV. 
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 Therefore, the Department uses chs. Trans 141 and Trans 156 as a basis for ch. 
Trans 148, with changes as needed to address the different needs of secured parties.  

 
 Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine effect on small 

businesses:  The Department has analyzed the number of security interests listed on 

motor vehicle titles, by non-individual secured parties, for calendar year 2008.  There are 
more than 15,700 different secured parties that have current liens listed on motor vehicle 

titles. 
 

 The Department then excluded from the count security interests that were added as 
part of a title transaction (generally, a vehicle purchase in which the buyer obtained a 
loan).  Of the total 15,700 secured parties, only about 2,080 secured parties listed security 

interests that are not part of a title transaction.  Of the 2,080, only 433 secured parties 
listed 50 or more security interests, not part of a title transaction, in 2008.  The 433 

secured parties that listed 50 or more security interests are responsible for a total of 
95,489 security interests not part of a title transaction.  This is 88% of all security interests 
that are not part of a title transaction listed in calendar year 2008.  The remaining 1,647 

secured parties listed only 13,311 security interests not part of a title transaction, or 12% of 
all non-title security interests listed in 2008. 

 
 Therefore, the Department has concluded that a cut-off of 48 or fewer non-title 
transactions is a reasonable number. This number is the same number of sales which 

exempt a motor vehicle dealer from requirements under ch. Trans 141, making program 
administration and communication with DMV’s business partners easier while, at the same 

time, this number captures a very large share of the security interest filing volume.   
 
 In this rule, the Department proposes the exemption cut-off at 48 or fewer non-title 

security interests listed during the previous calendar year.  
 
 Effect on small business:  Most non-individual secured parties are financial 

institutions, located in and outside Wisconsin.  Virtually all financial institutions maintain 
their records in electronic format and possess computers and access to the Internet.  On 

the other hand, the Department recognizes that some small businesses do not possess 
this capability. 

 
 While there is not a direct connection between the size of the business and the 
amount of business done with the Department, the Department believes that this is an 

adequate measure of a small business for which it may be difficult to purchase necessary 
hardware and software, or to hire sufficient staff to manage electronic security interest 

statement filing.  Therefore, the rule exempts secured parties that have filed 48 or fewer 
security interest statements in motor vehicles during the previous calendar year. 
 

 The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by e-mail at 
ralph.sanders@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 438-4585. 
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Fiscal effect:  The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal impact on the 

liabilities or revenues of any county, city, village, town, school district, vocational, technical 

and adult education district, sewerage district, or federally-recognized tribes or bands.   
 

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:  The Department estimates that 

there will be no fiscal impact on state or private sector revenues or liabilities.  
 

 Agency contact person and copies of rule:  Copies of the rule can be obtained, 

without cost, by writing to Carson Frazier, Department of Transportation, Bureau of 

Vehicle Services, Room 253, P. O. Box 7911, Madison, WI  53707-7911.  You may also 
contact Ms. Frazier by phone at (608) 266-7857 or via e-mail:  
carson.frazier@dot.state.wi.us. 

 

 
 TEXT OF RULE 

 
 SECTION 1.  Trans 148 is created to read: 

ELECTRONIC RECORDING AND RELEASE OF LIENS  

BY NON-INDIVIDUAL CREDITORS 

 Trans 148.01  Purpose and scope.  This chapter interprets ss. 342.19(2)(a), 

342.20(2) and (3), 342.22(1) and (2), and 342.245, Stats., which require a non-individual 

secured party to use an electronic process prescribed by the department whenever filing a 

security interest statement or lien release with the department and to pay fees for such 

use, unless exempted by the department by rule. 

 Trans 148.02  Definitions.  The words and phrases defined in s. 340.01, Stats., 

have the same meaning in this chapter unless a different definition is specifically provided.  

In this chapter: 

(1) “Automated processing partnership system” or “APPS” means the program 

established by the DMV, in which DMV contracts with agents and vendors to provide 

vehicle registration and titling services.  Ch. Trans 156 governs administration of the 

APPS program. 
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 (2) “Certificate of title” or “title” means the certificate of title for a vehicle as 

required in ch. 342, Stats. 

(3) “Department” means the Wisconsin department of transportation. 

(4) “DMV” means the Wisconsin department of transportation division of motor 

vehicles. 

(5) “Exempt” means that a non-individual secured party is not required or not 

authorized to file and release security interest statements electronically. 

(6) “Motor vehicle dealer” or “dealer” means a motor vehicle dealer as defined in 

s. 218.0101(23), Stats. 

(7) “Vendor” means a person, business or organization that contracts with the 

DMV to provide a host computer system by which agents may obtain access to 

specified information services of the DMV in order to process registration and title 

transactions or file security interest statements electronically. 

 Trans 148.03  Requirement to file and release security interest statement 

electronically.  (1) Unless exempt under s. Trans 148.06, a non-individual secured party 

is required to file all its security interest statements and release all its security interests on 

Wisconsin vehicle titles electronically as an update to the vehicle title record in the DMV 

database.   

 (2) A non-individual secured party that is releasing security interests and filing 

security interest statements on a vehicle that is not being transferred shall use either the e-

MV Agent Internet-based web application established by the department or the vendor 

provided interface under the APPS program, as authorized under s. Trans 148.04.   
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 (3) A secured party who is processing an application for a certificate of title as an 

agent in the APPS program under ch. Trans 156 may file the security interest statement as 

part of title processing, as authorized under s. Trans 148.04.  In the event that a security 

interest is part of a certificate of title application that a motor vehicle dealer is processing 

under ch. Trans 141 or ch. Trans 156, or that the DMV is processing, the secured party 

shall release the security interest electronically.   

(4) A non-individual secured party using DMV’s e-MV Agent Internet−based web 

application shall apply to the DMV on the DMV application form and shall comply with 

all applicable requirements, including those related to persons who have access to 

information subject to the federal driver privacy protection act, 18 USC 2721−2725. 

Note:  The DMV e-MV Agent Application Form is available on-line at the DOT web 
site www.dot.wisconsin.gov/business/dealers/emvagent. 

 

(5) A non-individual secured party that has not previously filed a security interest 

statement on a Wisconsin title shall apply to the department for a secured party number 

and shall apply to file security interest statements electronically.  The secured party 

shall begin processing security interest statements electronically within 30 days after the 

effective date of the DMV-assigned secured party number.   

Trans 148.04  Secured party participation in the APPS program.  (1) Any 

secured party may file its security interest statement electronically as part of processing 

a certificate of title, and may release its security interests or file security interest 

statement for a vehicle that is not being transferred, by contracting with the DMV as an 

agent in the APPS program under s. 341.21(2), Stats.  A secured party who participates 

in the APPS program shall, as a condition of continued participation in the APPS 

program, comply with all requirements and procedures under ch. Trans 156 and with 
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limitations on use of personal identifiers and confidential information under the federal 

Driver’s Privacy Protection Act, 18 USC 2721-2725.  

(2) A secured party participating in the APPS program may charge a customer 

for title processing, including security interest statement filing and release of security 

interest, any amount not more than the maximum fees specified in the contract under 

ch. Trans 156.   

Trans 148.05  Termination and nonrenewal of APPS secured party 

contracts.  A secured party whose participation in the APPS program is discontinued, 

by the department or by the secured party, shall continue to file and release security 

interest statements electronically using the e-MV Agent Internet−based web application 

offered by the department, and shall comply with all requirements of this chapter. 

Trans 148.06  Exemptions from requirement to file security interest 

statement electronically.  (1) EXEMPT SECURED PARTIES NOT REQUIRED TO 

FILE OR RELEASE SECURITY INTEREST STATEMENTS ELECTRONICALLY.  

(a) The department shall grant an exemption if the secured party filed 48 or fewer 

security interest statements with the department during the previous calendar year.  A 

new secured party is not eligible for an exemption during the first calendar year.  

(b) If a secured party was exempt under this subsection during a calendar year 

and the department determines that the secured party is not eligible for an exemption 

for the succeeding year, the department may cancel the secured party’s exemption for 

that succeeding year by written notice.  The notice shall require the secured party to file 

or release security interest statements electronically not less than 30 calendar days 

after the date the department sends the notice, and the department shall charge the fee 
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and surcharge under s. Trans148.07(2)(c)1. after the date specified in the cancellation 

notice. 

(2) EXEMPT SECURED PARTIES NOT AUTHORIZED TO FILE AND RELEASE 

SECURITY INTEREST STATEMENTS ELECTRONICALLY.  (a) The department shall 

deny a secured party the authority to file and release security interest statements 

electronically for any of the following reasons: 

1.  DMV has reasonable cause to conclude that the accuracy or timeliness of the 

security interest filings or releases performed by the secured party is insufficient, 

including any of the following: 

a.  The secured party has completed electronic processing of security interest 

statement filing before the secured party has obtained the original title from the vehicle 

owner or before the secured party and the vehicle owner have finalized their security 

interest or loan transaction. 

b.  The secured party has not released security interests in vehicles within 

statutorily mandated dates. 

2.  The secured party has failed or refused to provide DMV with any documents, 

fees, or information required by DMV to administer this chapter or ch. 342, Stats. 

3.  DMV has reasonable cause to conclude that the secured party is not in 

compliance with any provision of written policies and procedures regarding electronic 

filing of security interest statements, including non-payment of DMV fees. 

(b) The department’s denial shall remain in effect until the department 

reauthorizes the secured party to file and release security interest statements 

electronically. 
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(3) EXEMPT SECURITY INTEREST FILING TRANSACTIONS.  (a) A security 

interest statement is not required to be filed electronically if the security interest 

statement is any of the following: 

1.  Filed as part of a certificate of title transaction for some purpose other than 

solely filing a security interest statement.  

2.  Part of a transaction that is prohibited from successful electronic transaction 

because of an express limitation on the vehicle title or customer record, or on the e-MV 

Agent internet-based web application or APPS.   

(b) The department may not charge a secured party a transaction processing fee 

for filing a security interest statement exempted by this subsection.  The secured party 

shall release its security interest in the vehicle electronically.  

Trans 148.07  Fees. (1) FEES PAID TO SECURED PARTIES BY 

CONSUMERS.  A secured party may charge the vehicle owner the security interest 

filing and release fee under s. 342.14(2), Stats.  A secured party may charge the vehicle 

owner a fee to cover transaction processing fees the secured party is required to pay to 

the department to the extent allowed in this section.   

(2) FEES PAID BY SECURED PARTIES TO THE DEPARTMENT.  (a) Any 

secured party who is not required to file security interest statements electronically under 

s. Trans 148.06(1)(a) shall pay the department a fee of $5.00 for each security interest 

statement filing transaction that the department processes on behalf of the secured 

party.  If an exempt secured party who is not required to file security interest statements 

electronically under s. Trans 148.06(1)(a) submits to DMV an application to be 

processed by DMV through a customer service center, the secured party shall pay the 
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department the $5.00 fee per filing transaction, in addition to the counter service fee and 

any other required fees.  The secured party may charge the vehicle owner a fee to 

cover the fee that the secured party is required to pay the department. 

(b) Any secured party who is not authorized to file security interest statements 

electronically under s. Trans 148.06(1)(b) shall pay the department a fee for each 

security interest statement filing transaction that the department processes on behalf of 

the secured party.  The fee consists of all of the following: 

1.  A fee of $5.00 per transaction to process the transaction.  The secured party 

may charge the vehicle owner a fee not to exceed $5.00. 

2.  A surcharge of $20.00 per transaction.  The secured party may not charge 

this surcharge to the vehicle owner. 

(c) Any secured party who is required to but fails to file security interest 

statements electronically as required under s. Trans 148.03 shall pay the department a 

fee for each security interest statement filing transaction that the department processes 

on behalf of the secured party.  The fee consists of the following: 

1.  A fee of $5.00 per transaction to process the transaction.  The secured party 

may charge the vehicle owner a fee not to exceed $5.00. 

2.  A surcharge of $20.00 per transaction.  The secured party may not charge 

this surcharge to the vehicle owner. 

(d) In addition to the fee and the surcharge that a secured party must pay to DMV 

under par. (b) or (c), the department may notify the department of financial institutions to 

consider disciplinary actions against the secured party.  If a secured party described in 

par. (b) or (c) submits to DMV an application to be processed by DMV through a 
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customer service center, the secured party shall pay the department the $5.00 

transaction fee and the $20.00 surcharge, in addition to the counter service fee and any 

other required fees. 

Trans 148.08  Records. (1) After submitting an electronic security interest 

statement filing, a secured party shall retain for 60 days and then promptly destroy the 

certificate of title that the vehicle owner provides to the secured party, as provided in s. 

342.245(2), Stats. 

(2) A secured party shall ensure that sufficient funds are in its financial account 

with the department, since the department or vendor system shall debit the account 

established for the secured party for all fees owed to the department for a transaction. 

(3) The electronic record in the DMV database satisfies the requirement in s. 

342.20(3), Stats., that the department notify the secured party of notation of security 

interest. 

(END OF RULE TEXT) 

 
 Effective Date.  This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following 

publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.), 
Stats. 

 
      Signed at Madison, Wisconsin, this 7th day of 

April, 2010. 

 
 

 
      ________________/s/____________________ 
      FRANK J. BUSALACCHI 

      Secretary 
      Wisconsin Department of Transportation 

 


